New Organist and Choir Leader

We have been very grateful to those organists locally who have kindly helped us out over the last six months or so for Sunday services and for weddings and funerals.

I am delighted to announce that Mr Peter Tryon has taken on the role of Organist & Choir Leader at Lavenham Parish Church from 22nd November.

Peter is a experienced Organist and has an excellent track record of recruiting and building choirs of all ages.  He has only just retired from his post at St Mary’s, Bury St Edmunds (the very big church close to the Cathedral) where he has served with great energy, enthusiasm and commitment from 1983.  Peter is highly regarded and well-known in music circles locally and will be continuing his additional work as a piano tuner.

Peter had heard about our vacancy and is tremendously excited at the prospect of working here and being instrumental (excuse pun) in carrying forward and building up the musical life of our church which we have all cherished.

Peter will undoubtedly make a very positive contribution to the life and worship of our church in the months and years ahead, and – not wasting time – is starting the ‘choir recruiting’ straight away!  All being well, this will be re-formed and singing early in the new year.  So Peter would love to hear from anyone who would like to enquire about being part of this new venture – his contact details are given below.

I am sure you will all be giving Peter a warm welcome and your wholehearted support.  We are so fortunate to have him!

 

Stephen  Earl (Rector)

 

Peter has written a short piece to introduction himself:

Peter Tryon (Organist)

I claim to be an East Anglian by birth as I was born in Cambridge in the back of an ambulance going down King’s Parade at 50mph.  I was however bought up near Portsmouth where I became a chorister at Havant Parish Church and started to take an interest in all things musical. I was offered an organ and piano building apprenticeship at 16, but the county intervened and offered me an organ scholarship to study the organ at Winchester Cathedral under the very aptly named, Alwyn Surplice.

At 18 I went to teacher train at Bretton Hall in Yorkshire as my father persuaded me there was little future in pianos and organs as Hammond electronics would soon rule the day. This was followed by teaching in Bristol and for 35 years, at Beyton Middle School.  The desire to work on pianos however never subsided and I found myself tuning and restoring pianos in my ever diminishing spare time, my father’s prophecy never fortunately materialising.

What took the bulk of my time however, was as Director of Music at different churches in Winchester, Yorkshire, Bristol, Rougham here in Suffolk and finally St. Mary’s in Bury St Edmunds for the past 32 years.

St Mary’s is a very busy church which needs very good music and for this I maintained and enhanced an all male choir which gained an excellent reputation.  “Specials” with the choir included singing at a host of cathedrals, numerous foreign trips and even an appearance on the “Noel Edmonds Late, Late Breakfast Show” where sixty of us sang the Hallelujah Chorus on the back of a Land Rover in front of an estimated audience of 18 million viewers! Alongside this we had a ladies choir who sometimes joined the men, but never the boys.

As if my spare time isn’t taken up enough I have also had time to write three books.  The latter entitled “The Steinway that wouldn’t budge” or the comical confessions of a piano tuner/organist/teacher, comes out in the new year. (Plug,plug).

Personally I have four sons, two grandchildren and a wonderful wife called Glynis. We live in Drinkstone.

I am very much looking forward to getting to know you and to the challenges of the post here in Lavenham.  There is a lot to do, for which, I am sure, I will enjoy much support.

Peter Tryon
Organist and Choir Leader
Lavenham Parish Church
9 Green Close,
Drinkstone,
Bury St Edmunds,
Suffolk IP30 9TE

Tel: 01449 736049
Mobile: 07787 486726
petertryon@btinternet.com

One thought on “New Organist and Choir Leader

Please leave a Reply

